Marriage License Filing Requirements in Texas County, Missouri

The Applicants must:

Visit our office together to apply for a marriage license between 8AM and 3:45 pm M-F. Closed from noon to 12:30pm for lunch.

Be 18 years of age or over.

Present a valid government issued picture ID.

Pay $51.00* cash fee at the time of application (Sorry, no checks or credit cards).

Pick up and give the license to the person performing the ceremony before the wedding.

Have a ceremony performed within 30 days from the date of issuance in the State of Missouri.

NOT be related to each other through and including first cousins.

If the Applicants are under 18 their custodial parent must come with them to give consent and sign the application. 

 

Previously Married Applicants

Must give the date their last marriage ended. Persons divorced less than 30 days may apply for a marriage license if they acknowledge, in writing, they understand the divorce can be appealed or set aside within 30 days by the court of jurisdiction.

 

Unused Marriage License  

*  If the license is unused, the parties must return the license to the Texas County Recorder of Deeds office or it is deemed a misdemeanor in the state of Mo.

*  If the license is lost, destroyed, the parties must return to the Recorder's office to sign an affidavit.

*  If the license is not used it still must be returned to the Recorder's office.

 

Return and Record of Marriage

The person performing the ceremony is required by law to return the completed license to the Texas County Recorder of Deeds office within 15 days of the ceremony. It is a misdemeanor in the state of Missouri if the document is not returned

 

Copies

Copies are available as soon as the marriage license has been returned and recorded. Name changes require a certified copy and by state statute will cost $9.00.

 

Please call the Associate Circuit Clerk’s Office to schedule a wedding with the Judge at 417-967-3742.

  

AFTER THE MARRIAGE: NAME CHANGE AND MARITAL STATUS INFORMATION:

A certified copy of your marriage license is required by Social Security and the Driver's License Bureau to change your name. You may obtain a certified copy for $9.00 (set by state statute) at the Recorder’s office once it has been recorded or send a written request, along with payment and a stamped, self-addressed envelope.

 

Driver's License Any Drivers' License Bureau Office
Social Security Administration 1612 Imperial Rd., West Plains, MO 65775-2628
1-866-614-2741
1813 E. 10th St., Rolla, MO 65401
1-573-364-8060
County Clerk's Office Voter Registration
County where you are registered to vote
Texas County Clerk: 417-967-2112


Questions or Comments? This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Recorder or call 417-967-8438

 Wedding 01-18-13   562357 505385252852519 107216813 n   546099 505386892852355 962546862 n   528394 505384869519224 1939669306 n   64163 505384532852591 1311340620 n   12889 505385812852463 1203800142 n   Wedding - Angel